GowriShankar S

hi,

i would like to know whats the default settings for the checkout operation in sharepoint.

i have created a document library in which i have uploaded a document. now when i check out where does the document goes

please let me know




Re: SharePoint - General Question and Answers and Discussion Checkout of files

spv_uk

Which version of SharePoint

To some extent I can answer for MOSS 2007 and it may also be true for SharePoint Server 2004, WSS 2 + 3.

Firstly, there are two settings related to Check Out:

One is whether or not the users are forced to check out a document before SharePoint will let them edit the document. By default I think they are not forced to do this.

The other is the setting for document version control. This can be set to none (as a document is changed it is overwritten), major (v1, v2, v3 etc) or major/minor (v0.1, v0.2, v1.0, v1.1 etc). I don't know what the default setting is but you can check in the settings of the document library.

What happens to a document when you check it out depends on this version setting. When version control is on (major or major/minor), SharePoint creates a new copy of the document in the database. The person who checked it out (and site owners ) sees the new version, other users see the original version.

If version control is switched off, I imagine SharePoint just shows it as Checked Out and everyone sees the latest copy that has been uploaded.

Does this answer your question Or have I misinterpreted it

spv




Re: SharePoint - General Question and Answers and Discussion Checkout of files

Curtis Ruppe

Check out functionality is a bitflag operation. In other words, whenever a user checks out a file, the server updates the document's list item to let it know somebody has checked it out. On the client side, a few things can happen. With Office 2003 / 2007, the file is seen as read-only, for the user who did not check it out. With Office 2007, the file is stored locally within a SharePoint Drafts folder, so the user can work on the document for the duration of the checkout process, and then check it back in when they have completed. Office 2003 and previous users will need to go to the SharePoint site to get the document and download it even if they were the ones who checked it out. Hopefully this helps.



Re: SharePoint - General Question and Answers and Discussion Checkout of files

GowriShankar S

is it office 2003 n 2007 which you are referring to

i tried checking it out from 2003 and 2007 no file is moving to the local folder.

any settings to be done

help please







Re: SharePoint - General Question and Answers and Discussion Checkout of files

Curtis Ruppe

Whenever you Edit in Microsoft Office Word (or whatever the menu option is called), and you have forced checkout turned on, you will get a prompt from Office 2007 to store the document in your Local drafts folder.



Re: SharePoint - General Question and Answers and Discussion Checkout of files

GowriShankar S

"you have forced checkout turned on" can i know how to do this please let me know.

is that a setting or some coding that we need to do.





Re: SharePoint - General Question and Answers and Discussion Checkout of files

Dave Pyett

Go into your document library and click on Setting-Document Library Settings.
In here, you will see a "Versioning settings" link. Click it and you can then make the changes you require (the force checkout is at the bottom)