BobTheBuild

We have dozens of team projects in our TFS server for a lot of developers. Is there a way to hide the ones from the users who can't do anything in these projects

Is this the permission that controls this
<permission name="GENERIC_READ" class="PROJECT" allow="true" />

The [SERVER]\Team Foundation Valid Users group has this permission and every user belongs to this group directly or indirectly by default.



Re: Team Foundation Server - Administration Hide projects from users who can't do anything in them?

James Manning - MSFT

Yes, that's the correct permission, also know as "View project-level information"

Yes, by default Team Foundation Valid Users has that permission, but you can change that. Also, you can specifically deny the permission to a particular user or group.

This particular scenario is mentioned at the bottom of the server permissions page (in the community content section) of http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms252587(VS.80).aspx






Re: Team Foundation Server - Administration Hide projects from users who can't do anything in them?

Jeff McKune

Right now we do not hide projects that the user does not have permission to. We are tracking this as a product idea for the next version of the product.

Thanks, Jeff McKune





Re: Team Foundation Server - Administration Hide projects from users who can't do anything in them?

Ray Chapa

That is the correct permissions, but all TfsUsers can see every project from Team Exploerer if they select all(Projects) when add a project, but if they have only permission for read they can see the project in Team Explorer and Source Control but they don't are able to do changes in the project (That is what mind Generic_Read permissions) but to hide a project from Source Control to some one you have to retire the permissions to this user.

 






Re: Team Foundation Server - Administration Hide projects from users who can't do anything in them?

BobTheBuild

Thanks a lot everyone.  The permission is on the TFS Valid Users group by default.  But taking that away removes all the projects from the list, including the ones you do have access to.  So you can't even add a project you have access to to your view.

So the answer to my original question is really No!.  It's not a make or break issue for us at this point.  Thanks again